Laptop raised on an aluminum stand with a separate keyboard and mouse on a tidy desk

Best Laptop Stands Under $30 for Desk and Gaming Laptops (2026)

By Desk & Console Editorial Team Updated: October 2026 Specs and prices checked: October 2026
Affiliate disclosure: Desk & Console is reader-supported. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We have not physically tested these stands. This guide is compiled from Amazon product listings, workplace ergonomics guidance and published reviews listed at the end. Prices change often, so treat the ranges below as a guide.
Quick answer A laptop stand lifts your screen toward eye level, and Oregon OSHA’s workstation guide says the top line of the screen should sit at or just below eye level and that long laptop sessions call for a separate full-size keyboard and mouse. Review sites price the four stands below at roughly $14 to $30. The Amazon Basics Sturdy and Portable stand is the simple choice, and the Nulaxy adjustable stand is the heavier-duty one.

A laptop sits low on the desk by design. Raising it helps your neck, but it also lifts the built-in keyboard, so most guidance pairs a stand with an external keyboard and mouse. This guide compares four low-priced stands using the details published on their Amazon listings and in reviews, and explains which situation each one suits.

Why a stand and an external keyboard go together

Screen height

Oregon OSHA’s guide says the topmost active line of the display should be at or slightly below eye level, and it describes a laptop riser as a way to reach that height.

Separate keyboard and mouse

For prolonged laptop use, the same guide advises plugging in a standard-sized keyboard and mouse. The NIH’s workstation checklist likewise lists a full-size external keyboard and mouse, plus a docking station or a laptop stand.

Typing on the raised laptop

A Cuttles review of the Nulaxy stand says it wobbles enough to annoy you if you type on the laptop, and notes that Nulaxy recommends an external keyboard.

Buying checklist

General guidance

  • Check the screen size. Match your laptop to the stand’s listed range, such as 10 to 15.6 inches or 10 to 17 inches.
  • Check the weight rating. Gaming laptops are heavier than ultrabooks, so compare their weight with the stand’s listed capacity.
  • Choose fixed or adjustable. Adjustable stands let you fit your seat height. Fixed ones are simpler.
  • Plan for an external keyboard and mouse. Even a basic pair makes a raised laptop practical.
  • Check desk space. Foldable stands store flat, but a rigid base takes room.
  • Set the height. Aim for the top of the screen at or just below eye level when you sit upright.

Which stand fits you?

  • A simple, widely sold foldable stand: Amazon Basics Sturdy and Portable.
  • A heavier laptop, up to a listed 22 lb: Nulaxy Ergonomic Adjustable.
  • A stand that comes apart for a bag: Nulaxy C3 detachable.
  • A laptop or monitor on the same riser: Amazon Basics Adjustable Monitor Stand and Laptop Riser.

Specs at a glance

Stand Fits Adjustment Listed capacity Folds or detaches
Amazon Basics Sturdy and Portable Up to 15.6 in Up to 7 in of height Not stated on the listing Folds flat
Nulaxy Ergonomic Adjustable 10-17 in Height and angle, no tools 22 lb (Nulaxy listings) Folds
Nulaxy C3 Detachable 10-15.6 in Fixed, about 7 in lift (reviews) 22 lb (reviews) Detaches
Amazon Basics Adjustable Monitor Stand and Laptop Riser Laptops, monitors, printers 5 in lift, adjustable angle 22 lb Not stated

The 4 stands

Simple and foldable

1. Amazon Basics Sturdy and Portable Ergonomic Laptop Stand

Fits: laptops up to 15.6 in
Height: up to 7 in of adjustment
Size and weight: 25.4 x 22 x 15.2 cm, about 771 g (Amazon listing)
Design: ventilated, folds flat

Suits anyone who wants a no-fuss stand from a brand with easy returns. Amazon’s listing says it folds flat to fit a laptop bag and offers up to 7 inches of height adjustment.

Limits: the listing does not state a weight capacity, so check it against your laptop before buying. Like any riser, it works best with an external keyboard.

Best for heavier laptops

2. Nulaxy Ergonomic Adjustable Laptop Stand

Fits: 10-17 in laptops
Capacity: 22 lb per Nulaxy’s listings
Adjustment: height and angle by push or pull, no tools
Build: aluminum composite panel and silicone; dual foldable

Suits owners of larger or heavier laptops who want height and angle control. Cuttles recorded a price of $18 in August 2026 and rated it 8.5 out of 10.

Limits: Cuttles warns that it wobbles if you type on the laptop, so plan on an external keyboard. It is a desktop riser rather than a portable stand.

Best for carrying

3. Nulaxy C3 Detachable Aluminum Laptop Stand

Fits: 10-15.6 in laptops
Lift: about 7 in (review listings)
Capacity: 22 lb (review listings)
Design: detachable, ventilated

Suits people who want a rigid fixed-height riser that comes apart for a bag. Amazon’s listing showed it at number 19 in its laptop stands best-seller ranking at the time we checked.

Limits: the height is fixed, so it only suits you if about 7 inches of lift puts the screen at the right level for your desk and chair.

Laptop or monitor riser

4. Amazon Basics Adjustable Monitor Stand and Laptop Riser

Lift: 5 in (12.7 cm)
Capacity: up to 22 lb
Angle: adjustable, with perforated airflow holes
Use: laptops, monitors and printers

Suits desks that hold both a laptop and a monitor, since Amazon lists it for either. It raises a device by 5 inches and offers an adjustable angle.

Limits: a 5 inch lift is lower than the foldable stands above, and the listing does not say that it folds. See our guide to mounting a heavy laptop on a monitor arm without sagging if you need more height.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need an external keyboard with a laptop stand?

For long sessions, yes. Oregon OSHA advises a standard-sized keyboard and mouse for prolonged laptop use, because a raised laptop also raises its keyboard.

How high should the screen be?

Oregon OSHA says the topmost line of the display should be at or just below eye level.

Will a cheap stand hold a gaming laptop?

It depends on the listed capacity. The Nulaxy and Amazon Basics riser listings state 22 lb, while the Amazon Basics Sturdy and Portable listing does not state a limit.

Is a fixed or an adjustable stand better?

Adjustable stands fit more seat heights. Fixed stands such as the Nulaxy C3 are simpler but only suit the right desk and chair height.

Sources

About this guide

Compiled by the Desk & Console Editorial Team from Amazon product listings, workplace ergonomics guidance and the reviews above, with specifications checked in October 2026. We have not physically tested these stands. Listings and prices change, so confirm them on Amazon before buying.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top